Smithfield Police Dept. 3rd ANNUAL BALL April 2, 1977



VINCENT J. O'CONNELL Chief of Police



sie sons effen feuf minn me me me te



JAMES H. McVEY Dep. Chief of Police



SMITHFIELD POLICE DEPT. 215 PLEASANT VIEW AVENUE, SMITHFIELD, RHODE ISLAND 02917 TEL. (401) 231-2500

Chief Vincent J. O'Connell, Jr.

Again it is my happy privilege to welcome you to the Annual Smithfiled Policemens' Ball.

It seems that I like to take this opportunity each year to inform you somewhat of the accomplishments we have attained during the past year and actually I believe this is an excellent time to do this for it is an occasion which in a sense commemorates and celebrates the very existence of the Smithfield Police Department.

Again during the past year, the department has functioned as a smooth, efficient and modern law enforcement agency and the facts and figures for our official annual report bear this out.

The calendar year 1976 shows that in Smithfield, serious crimes decreased by 32% and less serious crimes decreased by 33% while the complaints we answered increased by over 9%. Of all the serious crimes 51% were cleared and of the lesser crimes 69% were cleared. This is a record of which I am most proud and would not hesitate to match against any comparative department.

It is perhaps unnecessary to say that a record such as this could not be accomplished without excellent cooperation from the ordinary citizen. This cooperation, for the most part, we have and I am quite pleased by it for law enforcement is a very difficult task which never gets easier and the only satisfaction we really get is to know that we are doing a good job and that we do have the positive cooperation of the greater majority of our citizens.

With this in mind, the Smithfield Police Department will continue to serve the public with the driving force being our sincere intent to do an even better job in the future that we have in the past.

mell Connel incent J

Chief of Police

General Chairman





Ptimn. John R. Hart, Sr. State F.O.P. Trustee



Roving Shift Com.



Capt. Presscott J. Williams Planning & Research



Lt. Joseph Parenteau Det. Commander



Asst. 2nd Shift Com.



Lt. Raymond Trombley 3rd Shift Commander



Sgt. Edgar Williams, Jr. Ptlmn. Lewis LeBeau President F.O.P.



Lt. Hollis J. Gates 2nd Shift Commander



Det. Wayne Sacco Vice Pres. F.O.P.

PROGRAM



Sgt. Arthur Williams Tach Force Com



Ptimn, Robert Goodwin Ptimn, Richard Landry Secretary F.O.P.



Sgt. Neil Tubman Asst 1st Shift Commander



Treas. F.O.P.

GRAND MARCH 7:30 P.M.

DANCING TILL 2:00 A.M.

COLOR GUARD

PTLMN. Richard Landry, Tom Oates, Joseph Pluchino, Presscott Williams III

COMMITTEE

TICKETS: Lt. Robert Kerwin, Lt. Hollis J. Gates, Ptlmn. Lewis LeBeau, Ptlmn. John Hart DINNER: Ptlmn. Joseph Larkin, Det. Wayne Sacco, Ptlmn. Thomas Oates, Ptlmn Mario Ciotola ACCOMODATION, DRESS & FLOWERS: Sgt. Neil Tubman (Chairman), Sgt. Curtis Pollard, Ptlmn. Cyril Crawley Ptlmn. Presscott Williams III, Ptlmn. Earl Newman, Sgt. Edgar Williams Jr., Capt. Presscott Williams, Lt. Raymond Trombley SEATING ARRANGEMENTS: Det. Lt. Joseph Parenteau (Chairman), Det. Brian Burke, Ptlmn. John Whitecross ENTERTAINMENT AND MUSIC: Sgt. Arthur Williams (Chairman), Ptlmn. Richard Landry, Det. Richard Smith, Det. Joseph Pluchino, Ptlmn. Robert Goodwin, Ptlmn. Thomas Hickey, Ptlmn. Charles McCann





Sat. Curtis S. Pollard Asst. 3rd Shift Com.

INVITED GUESTS

Governor J. Joseph Garrahy Lt. Governor Thomas R. DiLuglio Attorney General Julius Michaelson Chief William A. Gallucci, President of the R.I. Police Chiefs Association, West Warwick Joseph Agugiaro, State President, F.O.P. Raymond Pezzullo, State Nat. Trustee, F.O.P. Rev. Kilpatrick, Greenville Baptist Church Rev. Lyons, St. Michael's Rectory Rev. Besse, St. Phillip's Rectory Rev. Ray, St. Thomas Episcopal Church Rev. Shear, Georgiaville Baptist Church

Robert Boyle

Chief Emeritus, Smithfield P.D. Arthur B. Gould Chief William P. Tocco, Jr., Johnston Chief William J. Lawton, Scituate Chief Joseph W. Fricker, Foster Chief Joseph G. Baillargeon, Woonsocket Chief Joseph J. Freitas, North Smithfield Chief Frank Brown, Jr., Bristol Chief John T. Leyden, North Providence Chief Alfred Hamilton, Glocester Chief Robert Washburn, Tiverton Chief Thomas J. O'Connor, Cumberland Chief Richard H. Johanson, Lincoln Chief J. Arthur Menard, Burrillville

TOWN COUNCIL

Frank Eldredge, *President* Anthony Simeone, *V. President* Donald Brown

John Emin

REGULAR MEMBERS OF THE SMITHFIELD POLICE DEPT.

Chief Vincent J. O'Connell Dep. Chief James H. McVey Capt. Prescott J. Williams Lieut. Raymond J. Trombley Lieut. Joseph F. Parenteau Lieut. Hollis J. Gates Lieut. Robert J. Kerwin Sgt. Arthur H. Williams Sgt. Arthur H. Williams Sgt. Edgar L. Williams Jr. Sgt. Curtis S. Pollard PtImn. Joseph T. Larkin PtImn. Roger N. Ruotolo PtImn. Louis V. LeBeau

George T. LaCroix, Town Sgt. Warren H. Manchester Jr. Kenneth A. Brown Robert J. Eberts 3rd Thomas J. Vanner Edward P. Fusco Timothy B. Whitecross John L. Currier William H. Callaghan William A. Shepard Charles G. Greska Stephen M. Kemp Jr. Kenneth E. Wood Jr. Ronald F. Manni Ernest E. Quaglieri Neil E. Goodman Frederick K. Last Kerry K. Marty Donald J. Enos Joseph A. Gamils

Det. Brian D. Burke PtImn. Cyril E. Crawley PtImn. Mario Ciotola Det. Wayne M. Sacco PtImn. John F. Whitecross PtImn. Richard G. Landry Det. Richard J. Smith Det. Joseph F. Pluchino PtImn. Robert F. Goodwin PtImn. Robert F. Goodwin PtImn. Earl K. Newman Jr. PtImn. Prescott J. Williams III PtImn. Thomas F. Oates III PtImn. Thomas F. Oates III PtImn. Thomas J. Hickey Jr. PtImn. John R. Hart PtImn. Charles E. McCann Jr.

SMITHFIELD POLICE RESERVE OFFICERS

John J. Harrison Robert E. Coyne Jr. David L. Studer Robert T. Thurber Sr. Bruce B. DiMeo Richard C. Dixon Irene E. Patterson Burleigh M. Briggs David B. Dolan Jonathan K. Knight William A. Pilkington Walter R. Lukowski Stanley C. Tamulewicz Prescott A. Paulhus Warren C. Boles Robert T. Boyle Jr. Andrew F. Golouski John F. Russo David E. Williams Milton L. Nutini

In Memoriam

Dep. Chief Adolph E. Schenck Dep. Chief J. Lester Tobin Capt. Ralph F. Farrar Lieut. Saverio E. Serapiglia Sgt. Norman G. Vezina Ptlmn. Frederick M. Barnes